close chevron-right chevron-down arrow-right arrow-left facebook linkedin instagram twitter email

    Les hommes et le suicide

    Les hommes d’âge moyen (de 40 à 60 ans) meurent par suicide plus que quiconque, y compris les jeunes et les femmes (Statistique Canada, 2019).

    On enseigne souvent aux hommes à ne pas parler de leurs émotions et, par conséquent, ceux-ci cachent souvent leur stress; ils vivent leur douleur émotionnelle en adoptant des comportements et en posant des gestes qui leur sont nuisibles, et ont parfois recours au suicide plutôt que de chercher de l’aide (Ogrodnickzuk et Oliffe, 2011).

    À quoi doit-on s’attendre?

    La présente ressource se veut une introduction à la prévention du suicide chez les hommes. Vous y apprendrez les statistiques, les signaux d’alerte, les raisons pour lesquelles les hommes sont plus à risque, et les manières de prévenir le suicide. Vous apprendrez également comment avoir une conversation avec une personne qui vous inquiète. Si vous connaissez une personne qui songe au suicide, ou si vous y songez vous-même, appelez votre service de crises local. Au Canada, composez le 1‑833‑456‑4566.

    Statistiques

    Les hommes d’âge moyen (de 40 à 60 ans) meurent par suicide plus que quiconque, y compris les jeunes et les femmes (Statistique Canada, 2019).

    3 058

    En 2019, au Canada,  4 011 suicides ont été recensés. De ces suicides, 3 058 concernaient des hommes (Statistique Canada, 2020).

    1 169

    Les hommes âgés de 45 à 64 ans sont les plus nombreux à se suicider. En 2019, 1 169 ont été recensés dans cette tranche d’âge (Statistique Canada, 2020).

    3 fois

    Les femmes tentent quatre fois plus souvent de se suicider que les hommes, MAIS les hommes meurent par suicide trois fois plus souvent que les femmes (Statistique Canada, 2020).

    Signaux d’alerte

    Les personnes qui songent au suicide montrent habituellement des signes d’avertissement. Tout changement important dans le comportement pourrait être un signal d’alerte. Les signaux d’alerte chez les hommes peuvent prendre les formes suivantes :

     

    • Ne pas se présenter aux événements qu’ils apprécient en temps normal
    • Donner des objets dze valeur

    • Textos, appels et visites plus rares
    • Être moins présent et moins engagé dans les conversations

    • Dormir plus, même durant le jour, ou être agité et avoir de la difficulté à dormir
    • Manger moins et perdre du poids, ou manger de façon excessive et prendre du poids

    Facteurs de risque et de protection

    Avant même qu’une personne montre des signaux d’alerte, on peut en apprendre sur les risques qu’elle commette un suicide en considérant divers facteurs dans sa vie. Nous possédons tous des caractéristiques ou des traits qui peuvent exacerber ou atténuer les risques de passer au suicide.

    Les « facteurs de risque » sont les facteurs qui augmentent les risques de suicide, et sont toujours contrebalancés par d’autres facteurs qui bâtissent et entretiennent la résilience, soit les « facteurs de protection ».

    Facteurs de risque

    Certains facteurs de risque peuvent faire en sorte que des hommes présentent des risques plus élevés que d’autres en matière de suicide.

    Les hommes en général présentent un risque plus élevé de suicide, car ils ont tendance à choisir des méthodes plus létales pour se suicider. De plus, on leur enseigne souvent à ne pas montrer ou exprimer leurs émotions, ce qui les laisse avec le sentiment que toute démonstration de faiblesse portera atteinte à leur virilité.

    Les hommes qui présentent les caractéristiques ou les comportements suivants, ou qui se trouvent dans les circonstances suivantes, pourraient également présenter un risque plus élevé de suicide :

    Les hommes qui refusent d’aller chercher de l’aide ont tendance à porter tout le fardeau seuls. Tout le monde a besoin de l’appui des autres à un moment ou à un autre.

    Hyper-masculinité : Les hommes qui sont éduqués avec l’idée que le fait de montrer ses émotions est une « faiblesse » sont plus susceptibles de cacher leurs émotions, ce qui peut finir par les dépasser, et les mener à un état de crise.

    Les hommes qui sont socialement isolés peuvent se sentir moins à l’aise de demander de l’aide, car ils n’ont pas d’êtres chers près d’eux. Il est également possible que les personnes à qui ils peuvent demander de l’aide soient moins nombreuses, et que moins de personnes remarquent qu’ils vivent des difficultés et leur offrent de l’aide. Les hommes sont généralement plus susceptibles que les femmes de perdre leurs relations avec le temps, souvent parce qu’ils priorisent leur carrière et leur succès financier au détriment de leurs relations.

    (Houle, Mishara et Chagnon, 2008; Ogrodniczuk et Oliffe, 2011; American Psychological Association, 2008)

     

    Facteurs de protection

    Certains facteurs ou certaines circonstances peuvent limiter les pensées suicidaires et accroître la résilience chez certaines personnes. Voici quelques facteurs de protection pouvant favoriser la résilience chez les hommes :

     

    Les hommes qui sont plus portés à faire appel à quelqu’un lorsqu’ils vivent des difficultés peuvent trouver de l’aide plus facilement, et mieux surmonter les circonstances négatives que ceux qui n’arrivent pas à demander de l’aide.

    Les hommes qui acceptent leurs émotions et qui comprennent l’importance de les partager avec les autres sont davantage en mesure de s’en sortir, car il est plus probable qu’ils sachent gérer leurs émotions avant que celles-ci ne deviennent envahissantes.

    Les relations jouent le rôle de filet de sécurité lorsque les hommes songent au suicide, car ces personnes sont présentes pour offrir leur aide, ou pour aider lorsque la personne en difficulté leur demande de l’aide.

    (Houle, Mishara & Chagnon, 2008; American Psychological Association, 2005)

    Le paradoxe du sexe

    Les hommes meurent par suicide plus souvent que les femmes (3 fois plus souvent), mais les femmes tentent de se suicider plus souvent que les hommes (5 fois plus souvent). Il existe plusieurs raisons pour cela :

    • Les hommes ont recours à des méthodes plus létales que les femmes
    • Les hommes sont moins susceptibles que les femmes de chercher de l’aide lorsqu’ils vivent des difficultés
    • La société s’attend à ce que les hommes persévèrent dans les moments difficiles, ne reviennent pas sur leurs décisions (y compris sur la décision de se suicider), et « livrent la marchandise ».

    Un homme qui se sent déjà inadéquat ou « moins qu’un homme » parce qu’il a des pensées suicidaires non seulement ne cherchera pas d’aide, mais s’assurera aussi que le travail (le suicide) est bien fait (Canetto et Sakinofsky, 1998).

    Masculinité et suicide

    La société canadienne célèbre les qualités masculines – et pourquoi pas? Il y a beaucoup à célébrer. Toutefois, ces qualités peuvent accabler et consumer les hommes qu’elles définissent.

    Les qualités masculines, tout comme les qualités féminines, ne sont ni positives ni négatives en soi, mais les attentes qu’elles supposent et la façon dont elles façonnent le comportement d’une personne peuvent nuire au bien-être de cette dernière.

    Par exemple, on enseigne dès le jeune âge aux garçons à retenir leurs larmes, et on demande aux hommes d’endurer lorsqu’ils font face aux pressions de la vie : « Fais un homme de toi. » La robustesse et le stoïcisme sont attendus, et la vulnérabilité émotionnelle est perçue comme faisant de l’ombre à la virilité.

    Ces attentes sociales peuvent décourager les hommes de chercher de l’aide lorsqu’ils vivent des problèmes de santé mentale, et les entraîner vers des stratégies destructives pour faire face à ces problèmes. Les hommes peuvent ainsi devenir plus à risque d’accroître leur utilisation de substances, d’adopter des comportements risqués, de vivre de la colère et de la frustration et, trop souvent, de se suicider. (Seager et al., 2014; Ogrodniczuk et Oliffe, 2011).

    Comment prévenir le suicide chez les hommes?

    Comme société, nous devons apprendre à mieux aider les hommes.

    Les conjoint/es et les collègues peuvent être attentifs aux signes avant-coureurs du suicide chez les hommes qui les entourent. Si un homme devient plus irritable, par exemple, il s’agit d’un signal, pour ses conjoint/es et ses collègues, qu’il vit des difficultés.

    Individuellement, nous pouvons créer un espace sécuritaire dans le cadre d’une conversation ouverte et sans jugement, et apprendre à poser des questions bienveillantes visant à ce que les hommes partagent et expriment leurs émotions. Si une personne vous inquiète, demandez de l’aide. Consultez la section « Comment parler avec une personne qui vous inquiète ».

    Nous pouvons enseigner à tous, aux enfants comme aux adultes, que les émotions n’ont pas de sexe, et qu’il est correct et même nécessaire de montrer et d’exprimer ses émotions, et de demander de l’aide au besoin. Nous pouvons faire cela notamment en montrant et en exprimant nos propres émotions et en étant honnêtes lorsque les gens nous demandent comment nous allons. Nous pouvons également avoir des conversations plus significatives avec les gens en leur demandant « Comment vas-tu? Vraiment? », lorsque l’on soupçonne qu’ils vivent des difficultés.

    Les hommes ont besoin de savoir où ils peuvent trouver de l’aide. En tant qu’individus, nous pouvons fournir de l’information aux personnes dont le comportement nous inquiète.

    Les milieux de travail peuvent rendre les ressources facilement accessibles aux employés en communiquant leur existence, et en s’assurant que l’accès à ces ressources est confidentiel. Apprenez-en davantage sur ce que les milieux de travail peuvent faire grâce à notre trousse sur la prévention du suicide en milieu de travail (csprev.ca/workplace [en anglais seulement]).

    Les médecins et autres professionnels de la santé peuvent jouer un rôle dans l’identification des hommes susceptibles de songer au suicide. Comme les hommes sont moins portés à discuter directement des problèmes qu’ils pourraient avoir, les cliniciens doivent devenir habiles dans la lecture du langage corporel, du ton de la voix et des autres signes physiques indiquant que l’homme avec qui ils parlent vit possiblement des difficultés. Les professionnels de la santé doivent être mieux formés pour détecter la dépression chez les hommes, laquelle peut souvent entraîner des émotions comme la colère, ou des gestes comme la consommation excessive d’alcool (Ogrodnickzuk Oliffe, 2011; Paraschakis, Michopoulos, Christoduolou, Koutsaftis et Douzenis, 2016).

    Ce que les hommes peuvent faire

    Les hommes peuvent entretenir des relations sociales qui pourraient leur sauver la vie en priorisant leurs amitiés et en entretenant de bonnes relations avec leurs proches. Ils peuvent participer à des programmes de soutien par les pairs offerts dans les écoles, au travail ou dans la communauté. L’engagement social, par exemple le fait de joindre une équipe sportive ou un ensemble musical peut aider à créer un sentiment d’appartenance et de connexion, et favoriser l’interaction avec d’autres hommes qui ont les mêmes intérêts, ou qui vivent des expériences ou des difficultés similaires.

    Les hommes qui sont aux prises avec des pensées suicidaires peuvent trouver qu’il n’est pas facile de demander et de recevoir de l’aide. Cela peut prendre du temps avant de trouver des façons d’atténuer l’intensité de ces pensées. Soyez courageux. Soyez persistant : de l’aide existe.

     

    Ressources

    Regroupement provincial en Santé et Bien-être des Hommes

    Le Regroupement provincial en santé et bien-être des hommes (RPSBEH) regroupe des organismes, regroupements d’organismes et individus qui viennent en aide aux hommes et se préoccupent de leur santé et de leur bien-être (SBEH).

    En savoir plus

    L’Association québécoise de prévention du suicide

    L’Association québécoise de prévention du suicide réunit les organisations et les citoyens qui souhaitent voir diminuer significativement le nombre de décès par suicide au Québec.

    En savoir plus

    suicide.ca

    Nous sommes là pour accompagner et outiller les personnes qui s’inquiètent pour un proche. Voici de l’information pouvant aider.

    En savoir plus

    Interligne

    Interligne est un centre de première ligne en matière d’aide et de renseignements à l’intention des personnes concernées par la diversité sexuelle et la pluralité des genres.

    En savoir plus

    Lecture recommandée (en anglais seulement)

    Pour mieux comprendre les complexités au sujet du suicide chez les hommes, nous avons compilé une liste de lecture sur le sujet, accessible dans notre site : csprev.ca/men-reading-list.

    Experts évaluateurs

    Paul Links, MD, FRCP(C), Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioural Neurosciences, McMaster University

    John Oliffe, PhD, RN, Professor, Canada Research Chair in Men’s Health Promotion, and Founder and Lead of the UBC Men’s Health Research Program

    Références


    American Association of Suicidology. (2018). Know the Warning Signs of Suicide. Tiré du site : http://www.suicidology.org/resources/warning-signs.


    American Psychological Association. (2005). Men: A different depression. Tiré du site : http://www.apa.org/research/action/men.aspx.


    Canetto, S. et Sakinofsky, I. (1998). The gender paradox in suicide. Suicide and Life-Threatening Behavior, 28(1), 1-23.


    Houle, J., Mishara, B. et Chagnon, F. (2008). An empirical test of a mediation model of the impact of the traditional male gender role on suicidal behavior in men. Journal of Affective Disorders, 107(1-3), 37-43.


    Ogrodniczuk, J.S. et Oliffe, J. L. (2011). Men and depression. Canadian Family Physician, 57(2),153-155.


    Paraschakis, A., Michopoulos, I., Christoduolou, C., Koutsaftis, F. et Douzenis, A. (2016). Psychiatric medication intake in suicide victims: Gender disparities and implications for suicide prevention. Journal of Forensic Sciences, 61(6), 1660-1663.


    Seager, M., Sullivan, L. et Barry, J. (2014). Gender-related schemas and validation of the male and female gender scripts questionnaire. New Male Studies: An International Journal, 3(3), 34-54.


    Statistique Canada. (2020) Tableau 13-10-0392-01. Décès et taux de mortalité par groupe d’âge, selon certains groupes de causes [base de données CANSIM]. Page consultée le 31 octobre 2019 : https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/en/tv.action?pid=13100139201.


    Buy the toolkit

    This toolkit is available online and as a download for free, but sometimes print is better. Order hard copies of the toolkit ‘Men and suicide’ for yourself or your organization.

    Become a champion

    Champions support their friends, stay informed, have fun and help spread the word. And during our yearly campaign, participating groups can win a prize!

close chevron-right chevron-down arrow-right arrow-left facebook linkedin instagram twitter email

Jump to a Section

    Why are men at risk of suicide?

    Middle-aged men (40-60) die by suicide more than anyone else, including young people and women (Statistics Canada, 2019).

    Men are often socialized not to talk about their emotions, and therefore, men as a group may mask their stress and deal with emotional pain through harmful behaviours and actions, and sometimes suicide, instead of seeking help (Ogrodnickzuk & Oliffe, 2011).

    What to Expect

    This resource is an introduction to men and suicide. You’ll learn about statistics, warning signs, why men are more at risk, and how suicide can be prevented. You’ll also learn how to have a conversation with someone you’re worried about. If you know someone who is thinking about suicide, or if you’re thinking about suicide, call your local crisis line. In Canada, call 1-833-456-4566.

    Statistics

    Middle-aged men (40-60) die by suicide more than anyone else, including young people and women (Statistics Canada, 2019).

    Men are often socialized not to talk about their emotions, and therefore, men as a group may mask their stress and deal with emotional pain through harmful behaviours and actions, and sometimes suicide, instead of seeking help (Ogrodnickzuk & Oliffe, 2011).

    2,880

    In Canada, in 2018, there were 3,811 suicides. 2,880 of these suicides were male.

    1,125

    Men aged 45–65 have the highest number of suicides. In 2018 there were 1,125.

    3X

    Women attempt suicide 4x more often than men, but men die by suicide 3x more often than women.

    Warning Signs

    People thinking about suicide typically exhibit warning signs. Any significant change in behaviour may be a warning sign. Warning signs in men can look like:

     

    • Not showing up to events they used to enjoy
    • Giving away items they value

    • Texting, calling, visiting less often
    • Being less present and engaged in conversation

    • Sleeping more, even during the daytime, or being restless and having trouble sleeping
    • Eating less and losing weight, or eating excessively and putting on weight

    Risk and protective factors

    Even before a person displays warning signs, we can learn something about their suicide risk by considering different factors in their lives. We all have characteristics or traits that may contribute to or diminish our risk of suicide.

    “Risk factors,” those factors that contribute to suicide risk, are always balanced by factors that build and maintain resilience, “protective factors.”

    Risk Factors

    There are certain factors that can place men at a higher risk of suicide than others.

    Men as a group are at a higher risk for suicide because they tend to choose more lethal means of suicide. They’re also often socialized not to show or express emotion, leaving them with the idea that any show of weakness will diminish their “manhood.”

    Men who have the following characteristics, behaviours, or circumstances may be at a higher risk of suicide:

     

    Men who are reluctant to seek help tend to bear the burden all alone. Everyone needs support from others at certain times in their lives.

    Men who were raised with the idea that showing any sign of emotion is a “weakness” are more likely to hide their emotions, which can become overwhelming and may lead them to a point of crisis.

    (Houle, Mishara & Chagnon, 2008; Ogrodniczuk & Oliffe, 2011; American Psychological Association, 2008)

     

    Protective Factors

    Certain factors or circumstances can guard a person against thinking about suicide and increase their resiliency. These are some protective factors that can build resiliency in men:

     

    On the flip side, men who are more likely to reach out to someone when they’re struggling can find support more easily and can better cope with negative circumstances than those who do not.

    Men who have embraced their emotions and the importance of sharing them with others are better able to cope, as they are more likely to deal with their emotions before they become overwhelming.

    Relationships provide a safety net when men are thinking about suicide, because those people are there to offer help and to be asked for help.

    (Houle, Mishara & Chagnon, 2008; American Psychological Association, 2005)

    The Gender Paradox

    Men die by suicide more than women (3 times more often), but women attempt suicide more often than men (4 times more often). There are several reasons for this:

    • Men often use more lethal means of suicide than women
    • Men are less likely than women to seek help when they are struggling
    • Men are subject to the expectation that they will persevere through adverse situations or that they will follow through on decisions (including to die by suicide) and “get it done”

    A man who is already feeling inadequate or “less than” (a man) because of suicidal thoughts is not only “not” going to seek help but also make sure he gets this (suicide) done right (Canetto & Sakinofsky, 1998).

    Masculinity and suicide

    Canadian society celebrates masculine qualities – and why not? There is much to be celebrated. However, sometimes these qualities can overwhelm and consume the men they define.

    Masculine qualities, like feminine qualities, are neither positive nor negative in and of themselves, but the expectations they attract and the way they shape a person’s behaviour can affect the person’s wellbeing.

    From an early age, for example, boys are often told to hold back their tears and men are told to “suck it up” when dealing with life’s pressures: “take it like a man.” Toughness and stoicism are expected; emotional vulnerability is seen as a blemish on their manhood.

    These societal expectations may discourage men from seeking help when they encounter mental health adversities and instead can drive them to destructive coping strategies. This can put men at greater risk for increased substance use, risk-taking behaviours, anger and frustration, and, too often, suicide (Seager et al., 2014; Ogrodniczuk & Oliffe, 2011).

    How can suicide in men be prevented?

    As a society, we must get better at reaching out to men.

    Partners and coworkers can be alert to the warning signs of suicide in the men in their lives. If a man is becoming more irritable, for example, this is a sign to his partner and coworkers that he’s struggling.

    Individually, we can create a safe space, through open, non-judgmental conversation and gentle questioning for men to share and express emotions. If you’re worried about someone, reach out. See “How to talk to someone you’re worried about.”

    We can model to everyone, children and adults, that emotions are not gendered, and that it is okay, and even necessary, to show and express emotion and ask for help when it’s needed. One way we can do this is by showing and expressing our own emotions and being honest when people ask us how we’re doing. We can also have more meaningful conversations with people by asking, “How are you really doing?” if we think they may be struggling.

    Men need to know where they can find help – we as individuals can provide information to people we think may be struggling.

    Workplaces can make the resources available to their employees easily accessible by communicating their existence and ensuring access is confidential. Find out more about what workplaces can do with our toolkit on workplace suicide prevention.

    Doctors and others in the healthcare system can play a role in identifying men who may be thinking about suicide. As men may be less likely to directly discuss any issues they may be having, clinicians need to become adept at reading body language, tone of voice, and other physical cues to indicate that the man they’re speaking with may be struggling.  Health professionals need to be better trained in detecting depression among men, which can often result in emotions such as anger or actions like excessive drinking (Ogrodnickzuk & Oliffe, 2011; Paraschakis, Michopoulos, Christoduolou, Koutsaftis & Douzenis, 2016).

    What Can Men Do?

    Men can maintain life-saving social connections by prioritizing friendships and good relationships with their loved ones. They can participate in peer support programs at school, in the workplace, or in the community. Social engagement such as joining a sports team or a music group can create belonging and connectedness for men and prompt interaction with other men who have similar interests, experiences, or struggles.

    Men who are struggling with thoughts of suicide may find that asking for and receiving help is not easy. Finding ways to lessen the intensity of these thoughts may take time. Be courageous. Be persistent – help is available.

    Programs available for men by men

    Tough Enough to Talk About It

    This is a program for men working in trades, industry, and agriculture. The program features males who have dealt with stress, depression, suicidal behaviours, or loss from suicide.

    Learn more

    Man Therapy

    Man Therapy is an interactive website that encourages men to address their mental health and to seek help for themselves if necessary. Men can interact with a therapist, do a self-assessment, and get mental health tips. The website refers users to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (USA) and/or a list of professional mental health providers.

    Learn more

    HeadsUp Guys

    This is a website with information and resources to encourage help seeking among men at risk for depression and suicide.

    Learn more

    Next Gen Men

    Next Gen Men is working towards a future where boys & men experience less pain, and cause less harm by promoting positive masculinities, mental wellness, healthy relationships, and gender equality in schools, communities, and workplaces across Canada.

    Learn more

     

    DUDES Clubs

    DUDES Clubs are spaces that facilitate a participant-led community for men’s wellness, which prioritize supportive relationships, engagement in health care, and an Indigenous world view.

    Learn more

    Men’s sheds

    Men’s sheds are community-based organizations that provide a safe and friendly environment for men to learn practical skills, develop new interests, work on meaningful projects (e.g., carpentry, restoring bicycles for a local school, gardening, art), connect with other men, and talk about their problems. Some Men’s Sheds incorporate visits from health care professionals and access to men’s health literature.

    Learn more

    Recommended Reading

    To gain a deeper understanding of the complexities of men and suicide, we’ve compiled a recommended reading list on the topic, which is available on our website.

    Expert reviewers

    Paul Links, MD, FRCP(C), Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioural Neurosciences, McMaster University

    John Oliffe, PhD, RN, Professor, Canada Research Chair in Men’s Health Promotion, and Founder and Lead of the UBC Men’s Health Research Program

    References


    American Association of Suicidology. (2018). Know the Warning Signs of Suicide. Retrieved from http://www.suicidology.org/resources/warning-signs


    American Psychological Association. (2005). Men: A different depression. Retrieved from http://www.apa.org/research/action/men.aspx


    Canetto, S., & Sakinofsky, I. (1998). The gender paradox in suicide. Suicide and Life-Threatening Behavior, 28(1), 1-23.


    Houle, J., Mishara, B., & Chagnon, F. (2008). An empirical test of a mediation model of the impact of the traditional male gender role on suicidal behavior in men. Journal of Affective Disorders, 107(1-3), 37-43.


    Ogrodniczuk, J.S., & Oliffe, J. L. (2011). Men and depression. Canadian Family Physician, 57(2),153-155.


    Paraschakis, A., Michopoulos, I., Christoduolou, C., Koutsaftis, F., & Douzenis, A. (2016). Psychiatric medication intake in suicide victims: Gender disparities and implications for suicide prevention. Journal of Forensic Sciences, 61(6), 1660-1663.


    Seager, M., Sullivan, L. & Barry, J. (2014). Gender-related schemas and validation of the male and female gender scripts questionnaire. New Male Studies: An International Journal, 3(3), 34-54.


    Statistics Canada. (2019) Table 13-10-0392-01 Deaths and age-specific mortality rates, by selected grouped causes [CANSIM Database]. Retrieved 31 October 2019 from https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/en/tv.action?pid=1310039201


    Buy the toolkit

    This toolkit is available online and as a download for free, but sometimes print is better. Order hard copies of the toolkit ‘Men and suicide’ for yourself or your organization.

    Become a champion

    Champions support their friends, stay informed, have fun and help spread the word. And during our yearly campaign, participating groups can win a prize!